I can’t recall when I felt the first pangs of wanderlust or exactly why I felt any at all. It could be because I read a lot growing up and was constantly imagining being somewhere else. (I did always think that boarding school would have been an awesome adventure.) Or it could be that I grew up hearing all the stories about my dad traveling in Europe after college. It was a right-of-passage that I definitely wanted to take (and took too).

I do know, however, the inspiration for this trip. It was a friend who took his severance and his fiance on a multi-month adventure across the globe. As soon as I heard about it, I knew I wanted to do the same.

So here I am, now on the third day of our adventure, in Sao Paulo, Brazil. Nellu and I have left our family and friends, quit our jobs, given up our apartment, and stored most of our earthly possessions in my parent’s basement to travel around the world for a year.

Interested in taking the leap?  Here are a few steps that might help:

Step 1: Abandon all reason. Reason will only talk you out of going.

Step 2: Let go of any lingering hopes that you’re normal. Normal people don’t quit their jobs to go on a world-wide adventure.

Step 3: Convince significant other that this is a good idea.  Adventures – good or bad – are always better with a partner in crime. (To be honest this step was a bit harder than I thought it might be – but that’s probably a good thing.)

Step 4: Tell all your friends about your plans to travel (so you can’t back out). Then quit your job (so you really can’t back out).

Step 5:  And this is only a step I can only include now after taking the leap. Give yourself a few weeks to go through the steps. Moving out of your apartment on Thursday, leaving your job on Friday, and flying out of the country on Sunday…well that’s just rushing it. Instead of hitting the ground running, you’ll find you might need a little time to recuperate.

So that’s where we are now. My apologies for not getting this blog up and running sooner. But I promise that if you give us a little time,  we’ll make sure to keep you posted on the good times, the lessons learned, and certainly some good pictures.

~ Molly

