When Nellu and I started to plan out this trip, we talked about staying in places for a few weeks. We wanted to know what it would feel like to live in the places we visited. I think what neither of us expected to find was a home.

But we found that in Rio at the Casa Cool Beans with Lance, David and Mousse (their wonderful dog).

This was the first place we stayed for more than a few days. But it wasn’t the length of time that made it a home. It was the people. Our hosts were always ready to give an insiders tip, rescue us from a laundry crisis or just share a piece of their story with us. Lance even seemed to get Nellu’s sense of humor right off the bat. For those of you who know my husband, you can understand how shocked I was. (We’ve been together for more than a decade and I still don’t completely get him.)

Tree of Life - Street Art at Casa Cool Bean (Photo by Nellu)

I was able to interview Lance about starting a business in Brazil. I hope to have that interview compiled in the next week or so and will post it soon. I’ll also put together some of the footage I shot from around the guesthouse for the first video post on randombutbeautiful.com.

Thanks Lance, David & Mousse! We miss you.

~ Molly

