One thing that I’ve learned so far on this trip is that when Nellu and I disagree over something, I am always wrong. Really. (I am one of four kids, I’ve learned over the year to admit wrongness. It went a little like this: “You are right. I am wrong. I am sorry. I admit it.”)

Photo: Nellu Mazilu

Like the other day when we were walking in downtown Buenos Aires – we were crossing the Plaza Francia on the way to visit the famous Recoleta Cemetery where Eva Duarte de Perón (aka Evita) is buried. (Yeah, I know it’s a little touristy but  I do know most of the words to “Don’t Cry for Me Argentina”.)

We saw a few women stringing up ropes between the giant palm trees. I said, “Oh, I wonder what they’re doing.”

Nellu said, “I bet they’re going to tight rope walk.”

Me: “You’re kidding me. You think those ropes could hold a human being?”

We went to on to visit Miss Evita and sure enough on the way back…

Apparently they do tight rope walk in Argentina. Forget yoga, forget pilates. This is what the kids here are doing these days.

Nellu actually admitted later that he had seen people doing the same on Ipanema Beach. Obviously, if I had known that beforehand, I wouldn’t have bet against him. (Maybe).

Next time, we promise to actually go up to the tight-rope walkers to see if we can get a few improptu lessons and post those pics.

Other fun things about Buenos Aires:

1) The bus system here is … a work of art. Yeah, it only costs $0.30 USD to ride but because it’s run by an elaborate network of independent operators you need to buy a book to get anywhere.

No joke.

Here’s the the article from Trip Advisor that clued us into the whole scheme: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Travel-g312741-c5232/Buenos-Aires:Argentina:How.To.Use.A.Public.Bus.In.Buenos.Aires.html

Armed with our “Guia T” we were able to successfully get home once using the 93 bus. But since we have coins to ride the bus, and coins are quite hard to come by in Buenos Aires, we’ll be walking for a while.

One really nice thing about the bus – everyone neatly lines up to wait their turn to get on.  But they line up to the right instead of the left.

2) They don’t seem to sell wine by the glass in any of the restaurants (I know, poor us) but you can take an unfinished bottle home with you. Last night when we ordered a bottle of Malbec by the brand Siesta , our waiter got a kick out of telling us in English that we could take the “Sleep” home with us.

More to come…

~ Molly

