When we were planning this trip people would often ask where I wanted to go most in the world. I would just tell them, “I want to go everywhere.” Incidentally, this response was not what some were looking for because more than once the asker got mad at me and demanded more details. It was almost as if I insulted them with my open agenda. But that’s the truth. I never really had one place in mind when we set out on this trip. There’s no bucket list. I just wanted to get out and see the place.

But it turns out, I do have specifics. I just forgot. It seems that over the years I’ve been mentally filing away places I want to visit based on your standard stimulants – movies, pictures, articles. Over time all this inspiration got buried. But it’s still there. I found one piece when I went looking for the movie Lost in Translation. It’s based in Tokyo and we get the biggest kick out of seeing moves shot in places we’ve been. We were in Kyoto when I watched the trailer and ultimately downloaded the movie through iTunes.

There’s a scene where Scarlett Johansson‘s character visits some of the temples in Kyoto and one in particular where she walks across a path of circular rocks through a pond. You can see it in the trailer at 1:37 below.

.

.

These stones live at Heian Temple in the gardens behind the main shrine. Only when I rewatched the trailer did I remember that when I first saw that scene years ago I thought to myself, “I want to go there,” even though we had just gone to the temple and walked across the stepping stones the day before. Yes, we did go specifically to Heian to find the stones because of my obsession with all things water and I did shoot video of it to share with you. But still, why hadn’t I put the two together?

.

.

I think that I should start a bucket list so 1) I can actually remember the places I want to go and 2) I can have things to cross off once and awhile to make me feel more productive.

~ Molly

Editor’s Note: After I published this blog we discovered that not only is someone working on the perfect bucket list but they used two of Nellu’s photos from flickr in building that list. Check out the perfect bucket list by clicking the picture below.

